Branch. However, the Forestry Branch provides liaison between the Administration and the Regions for implementation of new forest practices and procedures and assesses the results.

The detection, suppression and prevention of forest fires is the responsibility of the Fire Control Division of the Forestry Branch. The Division maintains a network of 85 lookout towers equipped with two-way radio facilities. In periods of high hazard, four aircraft are kept on constant patrol over areas not under tower surveillance.

To aid conservation, the great expanse of forest area has been divided into smaller, more accessible units. A system of roads and fire guards has been developed to facilitate movement of fire fighting personnel and allow the caching of fire fighting tools at strategic locations in the forests, as well as at conservation officers' headquarters. Standby crews are ready to move quickly and heavy equipment is available when needed; a group of 16 fire fighters, organized in 1948, is maintained primarily to parachute on fires in remote areas, and to combat the blaze until other personnel can reach them.

Alberta.—The 161,473 sq. miles of provincial forests in Alberta are administered by the Forests Division of the Department of Lands and Forests at Edmonton. The Division is composed of five forestry Branches under a Director of Forestry: Administration, Forest Protection, Forest Management, Forest Surveys, and Radio.

The Administration Branch supervises all branches, maintaining general control over revenue and expenditure, deals with personnel and conducts a Forestry Training School which offers in-service training for forest officers and other employees.

Protection of the forests is in the charge of the Forest Protection Branch and all field personnel. For ease of administration, the forested area has been divided into seven Divisions, each responsible for the forest within its boundary. These Divisions in turn are composed of Ranger Districts in which all activities are supervised by the district forest officer responsible to his divisional superintendent. The divisional staffs include an assistant clerk, radio technician, radio operator and seasonal help such as lookout-men, standby fire fighting crews and labourers. These employees are responsible for fire prevention, detection and suppression and the supervision of logging and milling operations, timber cruising, and construction and maintenance of forestry projects.

Timber matters dealt with by the Forest Management Branch include setting the standard of timber, setting and supervising methods of cutting, ensuring efficient operation of mills, collection of Crown dues, and implementation of forest management plans. Much of the field work in connection with these duties is accomplished through the divisional staffs.

The Forest Surveys Branch is the technical forestry branch and its main charges include forest management planning, the forest inventory, and forest cover map-making for timber sale and fire damage evaluation purposes. Temporary cutting control plans have been completed for those areas south of the 57th parallel, and management plans are being prepared for the Slave Lake region. All timber will eventually be disposed of according to management plan under a system of sustained yield.

Development and maintenance of communications is the function of the Radio Branch. Central stations are maintained at Edmonton and Calgary with smaller stations located at divisional headquarters, lookout towers and Ranger Districts. A number of portable and mobile stations located in forest divisions form a comprehensive communications network.

Conservation of 9,000 sq. miles of forest comprising the Rocky Mountains Forest Reserve is administered by a joint provincial-federal agency, the Eastern Rockies Forest Conservation Board with offices at Calgary (see p. 108). The area is composed of three forests which are subdivided into Ranger Districts. The Superintendent in charge of each forest is responsible to the administrative officer in Calgary; his decisions are based on policies formed by the Board which comprises one federal and two provincial members. This Reserve includes the headwaters of the main prairie river system.